Mercury Orchestra
Mercury Orchestra in concert


REVIEW: Robust Mahler 9th Aligned With Mercury —Boston Musical Intelligencer

REVIEW: August Short Fuses— Materia Critica —ArtsFuse

REVIEW: Gratifyingly Gritty and Heedless of Fate —Boston Musical Intelligencer

REVIEW: A Charming Channing Yu Makes a Case For RVW —Boston Musical Intelligencer

REVIEW: Mercury Orchestra revives an American gem with Beach’s “Gaelic” symphony —Boston Classical Review

PREVIEW: Beach Storms Esplanade —Boston Musical Intelligencer

PREVIEW: In a rare concert, the return of Amy Beach —Boston Globe

PREVIEW: Irish themes, reimagined in music —Boston Globe

REVIEW: Mercury Ascendant —Boston Musical Intelligencer

REVIEW: Mercury (Orchestra) rises in Boston Landmarks’ muggy summer sendoff—Boston Classical Review

REVIEW: Mercury Meets Its Challenges —Boston Musical Intelligencer

REVIEW: Mercury Beats Heat —Boston Musical Intelligencer

REVIEW: Playing Passionately with Mercury—The Boston Musical Intelligencer
REVIEW: Playing Passionately with Mercury—The Boston Musical Intelligencer

REVIEW: Mercury Orchestra at Sanders Theatre: A radiant Mahler —Boston Concert Reviews

REVIEW: Mercury Orchestra Plays Like a Pro—The Boston Musical Intelligencer

When summer comes, Mercury Orchestra rises up —Cambridge Day

REVIEW: Mercury Orchestra a Marvel in Mahler 6 —The Boston Musical Intelligencer

Mercury Orchestra profiled in The Boston Globe’s “Classical Notes”

Channing Yu wins 2010 American Prize in Orchestral Conducting

Mercury Orchestra is selected as the national winner of the 2010 American Prize in Orchestral Performance

The American Prize

Find Mercury Orchestra on Facebook

Follow mercuryorch on Twitter


SATURDAY, AUGUST 26, 2023 . 7:30 pm

Mercury Orchestra
Channing Yu, conductor
Che Li, piano

ESTER MÄGI Bukoolika (Bucolic)
TCHAIKOVSKY Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-Flat Minor, Op. 23 (Second Edition, 1879)

The Mercury Orchestra presents a concert of vividly colorful and expressive masterpieces. Ester Mägi, dubbed the “First Lady” of Estonian music, evokes the distant past in the spare beauty of her work entitled Bucolic. Piotr Tchaikovsky’s immediately recognizable first piano concerto will be presented in its rarely performed Second Edition, the last version containing Tchaikovsky's revisions—the commonly heard Third Edition was revised by others and published after his death. Rachmaninoff’s Third Symphony combines plaintive melodies with vigorous dance rhythms and was the composer's favorite of his symphonies.

The concert will feature pianist Che Li, winner of the 2023 Fou Ts’ong International Concerto Competition, sponsored by the Foundation for Chinese Performing Arts.

Running time: Approximately 1 hour 50 minutes, with intermission

> Read about the composers and pieces

Jordan Hall, New England Conservatory
30 Gainsborough St., Boston, Massachusetts
Parking available for a fee at Gainsborough Garage

NOTE: This performance has already taken place.

Free admission; no tickets required. Suggested donation $10 at the door.
Age 6 and under not admitted.

More about the Mercury Orchestra in:

Cambridge Day

The Boston Musical Intelligencer

The Boston Globe and

Wicked Local Cambridge